Tamari Pepitas

I am a snacker. Awareness of snacking habits is important, without awareness it is easy to way too much chocolate or cheese and crackers!

I mainly snack when I am bored or procrastinating. I am aware that during these times I am rarely actually hungry, I am just eating either for something to do or to avoid doing something else. To make sure my snacking stays under control during these times, and others, I like to make my own snacks, such as tamari pepitas, or pumpkin seeds, which are delicious. They are also cheap and easy to make.

Other healthy snacks include:

Tamari is like soy sauce, but is typically darker in colour and less salty. It also contains little or no gluten. Having said that, if you don’t have tamari, soy sauce will work fine for this recipe. I was at my friends house and she didn’t have any tamari so I used gluten free soy and ginger sauce.

Ingredients: 250g pepitas (also known as pumpkin seeds) and 2 tablespoons tamari (or soy & ginger sauce)

Equipment: oven tray and oven

Steps: spread the seeds on the oven tray, sprinkle with tamari and move around with your hands to coat, bake at 160 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes or until the seeds are crunchy.

01 prepare

02 done

Leave a Reply

