Winey, wine, wine!

Today’s post is dedicated to wine. I’m not going to lie, I really like wine. I drink lots of it, I like talking about it, and I like matching it with food! So, before you read this post, grab a glass of Australian wine, sit back and relax!

Recently I updated the wine page on this blog to provide information on matching wine and vegetarian food. My tips: match finger lime & cranberry salad with rosé and black truffle pasta with merlot. Delicious!

01 pasta and wine

Spaghetti bolognaise served with Barossa shiraz

I have spent the last couple of days at the Wine Federation of Australia’s Outlook 2014 Conference learning about the future of the wine sector in Australia. It was really interesting and export markets are going to be key to the future health of the sector. Having said that, wine sales within Australia are also vital. Can you and I as consumers help? We sure can. Buy Australian wine and buy it from cellar doors.

A good friend of mine is the winemaker and business owner at Murrumbateman Winery. Through this friendship I have learnt small amounts about growing grapes, when to pick, plunging red wine, processing, flavours, food matching, cellar doors and more. It has been very insightful and I am grateful for the information I have learnt. I highly recommend taking a visit to Murrumbateman Winery – try the wines, listen to Bobbie’s stories about Mollie the dog and the Eli the nephew, and book ahead to reserve yourself a cheese platter!

Plunging merlot

Plunging merlot @ Murrumbateman Winery

2 comments

  1. Love your honesty re drinking wine. I will do my bit to help the industry as well. Why do you recommend buying direct from cellar door over bottle shop outlet (profit margin?)

    1. Thanks for your comment. There are a few reasons I recommend going to and buying from cellar doors. Firstly, you get to try lots of different wines and learn what you like and don’t like. Secondly, at smaller wineries you often get to meet the winemaker and hear their story and passion. Thirdly, you are supporting Australian businesses, 70% of retail wine sold in Australia is sold by Coles and Woolworths and personally I would prefer to support a local business than a retail giant.

Leave a Reply

