DIY Buttermilk Cheese

Ever wanted to make cheese, but put it in the too hard basket? All you need is a 600mL carton of buttermilk and a stockpot. Read this post to find out how easy it is to make cheese from buttermilk.

A couple of years ago I had an urge to try my hand at cheese making. I turned to Google and discovered that making cheese is a convoluted process, which looked difficult, tedious and required a lot of equipment and ingredients that I didn’t have.

Luckily before I gave up I came across a recipe by a guy called Kurma for super simple buttermilk cheese, you can check it out here http://kurma.net/ingredients/i4.html

Buttermilk has a natural acidity which means you don’t need to add acid or rennet to make cheese from it.

DSC00325

In a nutshell this recipe calls for simmering a carton of buttermilk (in the carton) for 30 minutes, leaving it to cool and straining it. Easy!

Fill a stockpot 2/3rds with water. Put the carton of buttermilk in the stockpot. If the carton is touching the bottom of the stockpot add more water until it is floating. Bring to a gentle boil, then simmer for 30 minutes. Take the stockpot off the heat and leave it to cool for 12-18 hours.

boil the buttermilkLine a colander with cheesecloth and drain the contents of the carton. Before I bought a cheesecloth I use to use a new chux, which worked a treat.

strain the cheese

Now you have cheese. I like to add a few flavours to make this cheese really pop. My favourite combination is salt, olive oil and fresh dill.
pic page

Ingredients: 600ml carton of buttermilk.

Equipment: Stockpot (9L or larger); cheesecloth*; strainer.
*If you don’t have cheesecloth, you can use a new chux.

Steps:

  1. 2/3 fill stockpot with water, place the carton of buttermilk in water, bring to a gently boil, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  2. Leave the carton in the water to cool for 12 hours.
  3. Line the strainer with the cheesecloth, strain the curds and discard the whey
    To make ricotta – lightly squeeze the curds (my personal preference)
    To make paneer – squeeze the curds firmly
  4. (Optional) flavour the curds. I like to use salt, olive oil and fresh dill. Yum!

Note: Do NOT boil the water! I have done this – it results in a strange chewy texture. It is still edible, but definitely not as enjoyable.

This year I overcame my fear of trying to make more complicated cheeses and have given mozzarella a go. Keep an eye on my blog for a post next time I attempt to mozzarella.

One comment

Leave a Reply

