Cinnamon Dried Apples

I was quite impressed with my how productive I was yesterday, particularly given my mild hangover! It started with a trip to the local farmer’s market, where delicious looking apples inspired me to attempt dried apples for the first time.

I have long thought about buying a dehydrator for tasks such as this. However, I have been deterred by the price of a good one, the risk of a cheap one and the worry that it will just sit in the cupboard and never get used.

I haven’t bought a dehydrator (yet), I used the oven to dry the apples.

The first step is to thinly slice the apples and remove the core. You could cut slices cutting around the core, but I wanted rings. I don’t have an apple corer (may buy one soon) so the size of holes in the middle of my slices varied depending on how thick the core was on that particular slice.

slicesWhat goes well with apple? Cinnamon. I ended up with two trays of sliced apples, so I sprinkled cinnamon on one tray as an experiment.

DSC00252To dry out the apple slices, keep the oven at a low temperature with the fan on and the door slightly ajar. You may need to rotate the trays so all the slices dry out.

oven

Once the slices have dried out they are ready to eat. The cinnamon apple slices were AMAZING!

DSC00319

Ingredients: apples, cinnamon

Equipment: chopping board, knife, oven tray, oven

Steps:

  1. Thinly slice apple and remove apple core
  2. Sprinkle with cinnamon
  3. Dry slices in low heat fan forced oven

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

