Rose’s Meaty Sausage Rolls

Earlier this week I published Veggie Sausage Rolls. My aunt, who has been wanting to write a guest post, saw and seized her opportunity to write about the ‘real’ thing – Meaty Sausage Rolls.

Here is her post (thanks Rose!):

“I am often asked to make my sausage rolls for party’s and I often home deliver to friends when they need a helping hand. Kid’s love them, the elderly love them and so does everyone in between.

I like to have everything on hand before I start:

  • 1 large oven tray;
  • 1 packet of sausage meat (or 500grams of sausages skins removed)
  • 1 carrot (so it is a health food)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 slices bread (I use wholemeal to further pretend their healthy) crusts removed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 spoonfuls of tomato sauce
  • Handful of herbs from the garden (I used oregano and parsley), chives are good also
  • 2 sheets of Pampas puff pastry (I have tried cheaper brands but they do not “puff” as well).
  • Baking paper
rose saus roll equip

Equipment and ingredients

With my trusty little blender, I first blend the bread until they become crumbs, then I dice the carrots with the herbs (make sure no stems are included), followed by the onion. You can blend all ingredients together, however I find a better consistency by doing them separately.

In a bowl I mix the above with 1 egg and the sausage meat along with a squirt of tomato sauce.

Cut the defrosted pastry sheet in half and put spoonfuls of the mixture in the middle of each sheet, then roll them up, leaving sufficient pastry overhang so the mixture does not escape during the cooking process. Two sheets of pastry and 500gm meat mixture will make four long rolls. I cut each long roll into quarters, giving me 16 mini sausage rolls.

rose saud roll mixtureTip: If you spoon the mixture on to each sheet before rolling any of them you can top up or take a bit off to make sure they’re all even.

rose saus roll roll

Before placing in the oven I put baking paper on the oven tray as quite a lot of fat comes out of the mixture. When you put the sausage rolls on the baking paper make sure they’re seam side down so they don’t open during the cooking process. I also use a fork to mix the second egg and brush them to give them a gorgeous glazed finished.   It is also important to prick holes in the pastry so the air can escape during the cooking process.

Sausage rolls

Sausage rolls

The only problem I have in making these is that I often have to taste test and my good intentions of giving them away often means another batch has to be made. Double the quantity if you like as they freeze really well.

rose sroll end

Finished sausage rolls

As you can see my sausage rolls are “big fat ones”. If you make them for a party, I would suggest you use less meat in each sheet of pastry and cut each long roll into 6 smaller portions.

As for the bread crusts, I throw them on the lawn for the seagulls.

Cheers, Rose”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

