Roasted pumpkin seeds

I don’t like to waste food and so earlier today when I needed pumpkin for another dish I decided to try my hand at roasting pumpkin seeds.

Last weekend while visiting my friend’s mum down the NSW South Coast I cooked a delicious pumpkin dahl. So good that I wanted more and I wanted to share the process with you. See blog post Pumpkin Dahl.

A core part of pumpkin dahl is obviously the pumpkin, but only the flesh, not the skin or seeds. Not wanting to waste the seeds I looked up a few recipes for roasting my own pumpkin seeds. I have never attempted this before, but figured it can’t be too hard and it wasn’t.

Pick out the pumpkin seeds

Pick out the pumpkin seeds

Remove the seeds from the pumpkin and then wash to remove the strands of pumpkin that are still attached.

Clean the pumpkin seeds

Clean the pumpkin seeds

Boil in water for a few minutes.

Boil the pumpkin seeds

Boil the pumpkin seeds

Strain, pat dry and roast with salt and olive oil.

Roast the pumpkin seeds

Roast the pumpkin seeds

Roast in the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Delicious pumpkin seeds

Delicious pumpkin seeds

The outcome: Delicious!!! You eat the shell as well as the seed, it tastes kind of like popcorn.

Comments on the first time: One of the blogs I read called for boiling the pumpkin seeds, the others didn’t. I decided to include this step, I’m not sure what value it added though. Next time I will try it without and see what the difference is.

Ingredients: pumpkin seeds, olive oil, salt
Equipment: strainer, small pot, oven tray

Steps:

  1. Separate the pumpkin and the seeds. Wash the seed to remove any remaining strands of pumpkin
  2. Boil the pumpkin seeds for a few minutes
  3. Roast the seeds with olive oil and salt for 5-10 minutes

Love pumpkin? Read about cooking Pumpkin Dahl.

Want more snacks? See Kale Chips

4 comments

Leave a Reply

