Kale chips

Holidays are a great way to find and try new foods. Last year I spent a month on the west coast of the US, it was the first time I had been there and I was pleasantly surprised by the delicious and nutritious meals and snacks I found. Portland was a foodie paradise and it was there that I came across kale chips.

The Portland Farmer's Market

The Portland Farmer’s Market

In Portland I stayed with a friend, Lauriel, who I had met whilst travelling in Europe in 2006. Staying with a local is a great way to get the inside tips on the best things to do and places to visit. For me this always includes farmer’s markets and Lauriel gave great advice on the best markets to visit. This blog post was inspired by a delicious snack I came across at a small weekday market in suburban Portland – Kale Chips!

pic page

Crunchy cashew kale chips

I had heard of kale chips before finding them at the market, but I had never tried them. They are delicious, crunchy and full of goodness. I bought some and made a pledge to try to make my own when I returned to Australia. I have since made them on many occasions and frequently get requests from friends for more.

The great thing about kale chips is that there are so many different seasonings you can use. My personal favourites are tahini and cumin; and powdered cashew nuts. Cashew nuts are a great vegan alternative to using parmesan cheese.

To powder cashews – Roast the cashews in the oven. Pulse in a food processor until powdered.

cashews

To prepare the kale leaves – Tear the leaves into pieces. Rinse. Drizzle with one tablespoon of olive oil. Sprinkle on cashew powder. Mix by hand. Spread on an oven tray. Bake in the oven at 120 degrees celsius for 30 minutes, or until crispy.

1

Preparing the kale leaves

 

Ingredients: curly kale and your choice of seasonings.

Equipment: a big bowl, oven trays, oven.

Steps:

  1. Prepare the kale leaves – remove the centre vein, tear into pieces and put into the big bowl
  2. Add your seasoning, toss to coat the kale and spread out in single layers on oiled oven trays
  3. Bake at 120 Celsius until dry and crispy (approximately 30minutes)

Suggested seasonings:

  • Olive oil, powdered cashew nuts*, salt and pepper
  • Tahini, ground cumin and salt
  • Tahini, ground smoked paprika and salt
  • Olive oil and parmesan cheese

*As far as I am aware you cannot buy powdered cashew nuts. Use a high powered blender to finely crush the cashew nuts, but be careful not to turn it into a paste as it will be difficult to coat the kale leaves evenly.


Want more snacks? Check out Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. Love your blog, more recipes please. Can we have a little more info on you….or should I be looking somewhere else on the blog for this info?

Leave a Reply

